What To Do With Coq au Vin

A beautiful day out on the town was ahead of us.  We still had a few hours before we needed to leave.  So, I happily combined some onions, carrots spices,  a bottle of wine, and a wonderful looking free range organic chicken in a clay pot.  With thoughts of a juicy wine infused chicken dancing in my head, I set the oven and closed the door.

We had a long list of things to be done before we were out the door.  Once done, we packed into the car and sped off for a day on the town, perfect weather included.  It was a rare day for the time of year; 85 degrees with a slight breeze.  The air was heavy with the scent of flowers.  It was a perfect day for stress to melt away.

Nearly to the restaurant we decided on visiting that evening, I remembered the chicken.  The chicken that was surely blackening and thinking about bursting into flames at any minute.  A horrible bitter-acid taste burbled into my mouth from my guts while my heart attempted to beat its way out of my chest with a sledge hammer. How could I do such a stupid thing?  Certain my house was bursting into flames at that very moment, I snapped at my husband to drive faster.

Several minutes later we pulled into the driveway of my house to find it still standing and the chicken black.  Peeling away several strata of hard, charred layers I rescued whatever was left for dog food. It had turned into chicken jerky.

Funny, it makes the perfect dog training treat.

Have a few pieces yourself and you tend to interpret instructions in new and interesting ways.

What?

Leave a Reply

