Say goodbye to 2010

There is nothing permanent except change. – Heraclitus

This year I have said goodbye to friends who moved away and it has brought new ones into my life.

It has been the ending of some dreams and the beginning of others.

This year made my adult dog become old in one day, and turned my puppy into an idiot teenager.

New adventures were found while opportunities for others slipped through my fingers.

I learned many new skills, and suffered many more lessons.

This year shot my confidence into the stars and humbled me to my core.

There were several changes that occurred in 2010; a few just have to go.

2010 came with a larger and flabbier butt (seriously my pants don’t fit anymore), a lack of routine, and a grumpier disposition (if that is even possible.)

The future is not a result of choices among alternative paths offered by the present, but a place that is created–created first in the mind and will, created next in activity. The future is not some place we are going to, but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them, changes both the maker and the destination. -John Schaar

This new year I am going to solve all three problems by doing only one thing, moving my butt. Specifically, I will be getting up early every morning to either run, bike, or to the gym to strap myself into one of the many contraptions for at least 30 minutes.

Exercise everyday for one month will make me far less grumpy, reduce stress, improve brain functioning, and reduce the size of my butt.  Strangely, this also does something for my routine as I feel rejuvenated for the entire day, getting far more stuff done than sleeping in.  On top of that, do I really want to collapse on the side of the mountain with exhaustion after helping carry a lost stout hunter back to safety, I think not.

One other thing I will gain, a palpable challenge; an achievable goal.  I can always improve my speed, distance, terrain, and form.  Thus, capturing the elusive state of Flow.

Am I going to wait until New Years?  No way!  Matter of fact, I already started this morning… barefoot.

To change one’s life: 1. Start immediately, 2. Do it flamboyantly, 3. No exceptions. -William James

Books to read for inspiration:

Finding Flow by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi

Born to Run by Christopher McDougall

Leave a Reply

